This article is about Android phones. If you would like to see our iPhone article, please click here.

At SignOnSite we believe the ability to control your privacy is really important. 

In Android 6 and later, you are able to take complete control over which applications have access to your Location Services. 

Location Services on Android are managed by the device and require applications to request permission for access. For your security, the device manages the location of your device using a system called Android Location Manager, which only provides locations to each application when they require it. That means you have the ability to control if and when different applications can know your location and they can't access it with your knowledge.

Device's have improved greatly from when GPS was first introduced, now Location Services is a smart combination of GPS, Cellular Tower Signal and Crowd-Sourced Wi-Fi Locations. This means that the combined Location Services can work smarter to provide you a better experience while minimising battery consumption.

This is a guide to show you how to manage Location Services on your own device.

Navigating to App Permission Settings

Open up your Settings by sliding down the Status Bar from the top of the screen and selecting the 'cog' icon shown below.

Application Settings

Then select the Application Manager after scrolling down till you find the Applications section.

Then select the Menu button

And select the App Permissions.

App Permission Settings

The App Permission section allows you to manage which apps are granted permission to access certain functions of your device. In this section, you can grant or revoke access to a wide range of device features such as Location, Camera or Contacts for all of the apps on your phone.

Location Permissions

Select the Location section to control the applications that receive updates from the Android Location Manager.

You will find a list of applications who have the option for you to grant permission to receive updates from the Android Location Manager.

Confirm that SignOnSite's permissions are turned on.

This does not mean that  SignOnSite is always accessing your location, but rather whenever the Android Location Manager decides that it should update the SignOnSite Location Engine of your location to either sign you on or off a site. Once it has done this, it will switch off until it receives a new update from the Android Location Manager.

---------------------------------------------------------

Click here, to read more about how the SignOnSite Location Engine works to reduce battery usage and protect your privacy.

Did this answer your question?